top of page
Search
  • sadieqhall

Art 4 Q1 Home Project

For my art 4 Q1 home project, I chose to add to my current body of work and continue with the theme of wearable art. For this I chose to learn jewelry making.


After receiving feedback on my summer project, also involving wearable art, I decided to pursue making jewelry because I knew it would add to my other projects where I had a themed outfit/costume. I decided on learning how to do metal-working and create unique chain jewelry. For my Q1 project I knew I wanted to make a collection of necklaces/chokers to showcase many different potential aesthetics and work them into my art.


My plan was to create 4 different chokers: two with gothic and fairy-core aesthetics, one with a white and silver color scheme, and one with a whimsical look.


I began by creating a simple whimsical necklace, featuring playful bright colors and a simple design so that I could learn techniques better and get comfortable with the medium.


I next moved on to the white and silver one, in which I created a more complex design and focused a lot more on the composition of the piece.


Next I created the fairy-core necklace. For this necklace I wanted to utilize some other mediums in the piece, so I created some polymer clay charms and painted them, then used them in the necklace.


Finally I created a goth necklace with a black, silver, and red color scheme. This necklace put together all that I had been working on in finding good composition which I found was much more difficult with multiple colors than just one. It also showcased some more unique elements with wire wrapping and chain work. It put together the more complex elements from all of the chokers I made prior and showcased them in one piece.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page