top of page
Search
  • sadieqhall

Artist Copy Drawing

Updated: Nov 13, 2021

I chose to copy a drawing by Henri Matisse featuring loose lines with charcoal pencil and grey oil paint.


After a week of attempting to find the artist mark in my drawing, I had a fair amount of success. Initially I found the searching line and did a light contour to ensure proportionality.



Once I had the outline present on my final paper, I did some practice with the actual artist mark. Because the piece is very expressive and the lines are loose and varied, this proved to be quite difficult. However, after some guidance and tips I drew the bottom half of the drawing freehand on a separate piece of paper with some success.

Once I felt confident enough with the mark, I made my drawing with charcoal and white and blue chalk.


With this project, I learned a lot about using expressive marks and searching lines instead of making contours. I also learned about charcoal and using pressure control along with speed of the mark to get the desired lines.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page