top of page
Search
  • sadieqhall

Awareness- Nathalie Miebach

One artist I have an interest in is Nathalie Miebach.

Natalie attended Harvard University, quite the achievement, and simultaneously worked on her art skills by working with local artists on basket weaving. In Harvard, many of her classes were centered around astronomy, one of her many interests. However, she had trouble picking up the content because it was flatly displayed from a projector. She then realized the direction she wanted her artwork to go: she wanted to use her baskets as a 3D canvas to showcase her interest in weather and astronomy.

"In the Shadow of Giants" (2013). 32”x32”x25”. Reed, wood, rope, paper, data.

I really enjoy the color scheme of this piece because I think that all of the colors fit together nicely. I also think she did a very nice job of making the piece look finished, which seems like a difficult task for work like this.



"To Hear an Ocean in a Whisper" (2013). 7’x7’x6’. Data, wood, reed, rope, paper.

This piece almost looks like a parade float to me. There is so much going on, yet it still gives me a happy cheerful feeling when I look at it. I also love the variety of shapes and heights that make it very appealing to look at.


Galleries: Stay Healthy and Strong, The Floods, The Sandy Rides, Poles, Musical Scores 2D/3D, Changing Weather, Weather Sound Drawings, Storms, Gales, and Blizzards, Weather of War, Play Day, and her Commissions.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page