top of page
Search
  • sadieqhall

Critique 2- Art 5

As the first real critique of art 5, excluding my summer project, I wanted to make another piece that I could add to my overall body of work. For this piece, I knew I wanted an orange color scheme, possible with a bit of yellows and greens. I picked a smaller and more manageable canvas for this piece and got to work.


I began my piece by actually not creating an underpainting: someone else had already made a few marks of black paint on the canvas, so I kept the marks and incorporated them into my design. I began to do more transparent layering with orange and yellow for the first few layers, wanting to gradually build up the paint's opacity as I went on. I then added in some black and white marks to add contrast to the piece.


Then I went in with some newspaper to create texture and collage elements. The newspaper was a bit darker, so I wanted to be sure to add back in plenty of white as to not make the painting seem too dark overall.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page