top of page
Search
  • sadieqhall

Lunchtime Lecture 12/12/23

Today I had the honor of listening to a lunchtime lecture by Dan Kanach.


To begin, I really enjoyed the way he started off the presentation. He made me consider what art can be at its heart with the example of a disfunctional watering can. Dan said that art can be taking something that works and making it awkward or unusable, whcih made me think of readymades from the Dada era.

Dan also pointed out something that I had not thought much about before: if you are a designer, you get to express a lot of creativity and take artistic liscense in much of your work. Prior to this lecture, I typically thought of designers as having rigid outlines they must adhere to. However, Dan commented that when he draws a face, for example, it is almost never rendered as an exact realistic face.


One thing that really shocked me was how much designers charge for specific products and services. Dan said that for a bigger business, a professional logo will run them around $1,000. So, for all of the time and effort put into the work, designers still get a good value out of their products, which I did not necessarily expect.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page