top of page
Search
  • sadieqhall

Q3 Home Project Updates

Updated: Mar 16, 2023

2/17

This quarter I have decided to explore realistic painting with my home project. I have continued my use of textile mediums and theme of wearable art in this piece while keeping my colors bright. For my medium I chose to work with a pair of shoes and I decided to experiment with underpainting one shoe black and one shoe white. I took inspiration from things around me that I noticed I was drawn to to explore different content. On the black shoe, I knew I wanted to do something that normally would not show up on a white background to give a translucent effect. I chose to do bubbles, and painted them based on a reference photo.

The bubbles turned out pretty good, so I decided to do something on the white shoe to see if I could replicate the vibe. For the white shoe I started with a skull because I wanted to do something with a green color pallet and I thought that A skull would look nice against brighter colors. I also wanted to do a butterfly because I saw painted butterflies on a classmates art piece and loved the way they looked.


2/28 update


After this, I sketched out the rest of the larger Items I wanted on the shoes with pencil. I decided to have the black shoe include some elements of graffiti style shapes and colors to tie it back to my other work, and have the white one tie back to my favorite aesthetics: fairy core, dream core, and cottage core. I wanted to use bright but coherent colors on the white shoe and more neon colors on the black shoe to make it seem more neon.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page