top of page
Search
  • sadieqhall

Q3 Project Painting Updates

Updated: Mar 16, 2023

2/24

I decided my next project for Q3 would be another abstract expressionist painting so I can hone my skills and improve my abstract painitngs. I wanted this painting to be larger than my previous ones, and I had the goal set to limit my color palette to split complimentary colors.I chose to use red-orange, blue-green, and blue-purple in addition to white and black for the painting. I began by doing a partially black underpainting which I found worked very well in my last painting. After that, I added some red-orange and some matte medium to the canvas to build texture and contrast. I wrote a combination of Radom symbols, pictures like a chicken, and some things I was frustrated with in life on the canvas knowing that those things would get covered up with paint and no longer visible in a few days, and it was really therapeutic.


After this dried, I decided to use some of m other colors. I mixed the brightest versions of my three colors and put them on the canvas in little stripes along with some more black. This created a lot of contrast, but I did not like how it looked. I think having the brightest version of every color made it look a little muddy and created too much contrast so that nothing really popped.


At this point I got really frustrated with the way the painting was going and basically painted over all of it. I did use this opportunity to create a lot more texture though by adding matte medium to some of the white and black. I also used many different shades of white and black on the canvas, though I do not think it appeared that way.


3/1 update


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page